U16s ready for English National Club Championships 2016/2017

Rathbones Jersey Hockey’s U16 Girls and Boys travel to the UK at the weekend.


The girls kicked off their campaign two weeks ago with a tight 2-1 defeat to Guernsey, but will be looking to bounce back with victories against the other teams in their pool; Canterbury, Marden Russets, Sevenoaks, and Tunbridge Wells. This Sunday the girls will be in action against Sevenoaks and Tunbridge Wells.

Selection was done through the Jersey Secondary School Sports Association and includes girls from every single secondary school across the u14 and u16 age groups.

Squad: Sophie Gorman, Harley Cadoret, Lilly Wysmuller, Emily Genee, Erin Moffett, Holly Clark, Olivia Besant, Jess Watling (c), Bronte Kellett, Isobel Smith, Annie Hickling, Rosie McManus, Jennifer Cullen, Honor Critchard.


The boys will play their four regional League fixtures against Trojans, Fareham, Havant and Winchester. The squad has been training hard since last summer and with the ability of the players, even though they are quite a young group, the coaches are confident that the team will perform well and build on last season’s success.


Bill Aston: As a squad we are looking forward to this test We have got a tough weekends schedule owing to weather cancellations but we have a good young and vibrant squad who want to go and show what they can do. If they can take forward what we have worked on in training, with a bit of luck and a some hard endeavour the boys can show their peers in the UK what a good level of hockey we can produce here on the Island.

Dom Pallot: “Our U16s Boys and Girls are flying the Jersey Hockey flag in the UK this weekend and we have high hopes of qualifying for the next Regionals round. The boys’ squad is deep with talent and we are looking forward to see how they compete in what will be four tough regional League matches.”

Boys Squad:

Henry Dowling (C), Tom Bolton, Jack Harben, Rhys Thomas, Piers Brandie (GK), Chris Carnegie, Tom Heelis, Toby Treharne, Xav Barette, Robbie Forrest, Jack Le Bihan, Jamie Watling, Jacob Bell, Adam Gower, Chris Thomas, Will Wycherley.